Member, sign in | Sign up now 
Oceania > Cook Islands >

Large map

 Been there 0 |   Great place 0 |   Want to go there 0 |   Write a Review 0 |  

Cook Islands is an archipelago in the Pacific, which is a self-governing, parliamentary democracy associated with New Zealand, which is responsible for defense policy and takes care of part of foreign policy. The archipelago consists of 15 small islands, Rarotonga is the largest. Total area is only 240 km², and its capital is Avarua.

Cook Islands was probably populated the first time around. year 500 - 800 First time Europeans made contact with the islands was in 1596, when Spanish explorers were on the northern islands. His name was islands, however, when the British Captain Cook discovered the islands in 1773 and 1777. Islands was then a British protectorate in 1888 and transferred to New Zealand in 1900. In 1994 they had a referendum, in which they decided not to change the form of government and flag.

The name Cook Islands was not until the 1824's Russian cartographer Adam Johann von Krusenstern.
Popular Destinations

  #1  Takutea
  #2  Manihiki

  #3  Aitutaki
  #4  Nassau

Sponsored links from Abby, The Traveler
eDreams - Book tour Flight on eDreams

Find Special Flight Offers on eDreams. Book Now Your Next Flight & Save!

Abby The Traveler
Provides information and tips about places around the world...
About Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Become a member | Owners  

Copyright  2012 - 2021