Member, sign in | Sign up now 
Africa > Burkina Faso >

Large map

 Been there 0 |   Great place 0 |   Want to go there 0 |   Write a Review 0 |  

Burkina Faso is a country in West Africa, which borders Benin, Ivory Coast, Ghana, Mali, Niger and Togo. It has no coastline. The land was formerly known as Upper Volta, but changed its name in 1984. Burkina Faso means the upright countries Mossi and dyula, the two dominant African languages in the country. It was a French colony until 1960. Through three decades, the country was very unstable, but the early 1990s were held democratic elections, and the political climate appears now to be fairly stable. The country got its present name of the former president Thomas Sankara after the seizure of power in 1983 from the former colonial friendly regimes in the country.

Burkina Faso, which means "land of the honest people", is located in West Africa. It is bordered by Mali, Niger, Benin, Togo, Ghana and Ivory Coast. Only a small part of the country has growing opportunities and landscape consists mostly of wooded plains on a flat plateau. The tropical climate with the hot desert winds accentuate the dryness of the terrain. Drying time is usually from mid-November to mid-April, and the rainy season from June to September. Lack of rain is generally a major problem.

Sponsored links from Abby, The Traveler
eDreams - Book tour Flight on eDreams

Find Special Flight Offers on eDreams. Book Now Your Next Flight & Save!

Abby The Traveler
Provides information and tips about places around the world...
About Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Become a member | Owners  

Copyright  2012 - 2022